Just like the painters of the past, modern-day tourists come to see this world-famous piece of Holland: the endless lowland with typically Dutch wide-open skies dotted with clouds, wooden houses and of course the windmills of the Zaanse Schans.

For the Dutch, windmills were a life-changing invention, one that brought prosperity to the country. Until the 16th century the living conditions here were very difficult. The wetlands and swamps were often flooded, and people lived in small farmer’s houses. Often the floods destroyed whatever had been built during the winter. The mills not only kept out the water, they were also were the country’s first factories. The big wheels of the mills could process all kinds of raw materials: from cutting wood to grinding grain.

So once the sea was conquered and the mills produced, the Dutch became rich. The result was the Dutch Golden Age, to this day considered one of the most important art movements in human history. Rich merchants paid to have their portraits painted, or wanted Dutch landscapes in their houses. It is estimated that around the mid-1600s there were some 700 active painters working in the Netherlands.

Rembrandt van RijnThe, Mill, 1645-1648

While the artists of the Dutch Golden Age covered a wide range of motifs, the windmills remained at the center of the movement. Some of the most important pieces from the time feature one of these constructions. Perhaps the most famous windmill-featuring paintings from the time is Rembrandt’s ‘The Mill’, finished in 1648.

With time styles evolved and new artistic movements took over. The windmills, however, stayed. Together with the overcast skies and the threatening sea of the Lowlands, the windmill continued to be painted by almost every famous artist around – from Van Gogh to Mondrian. And just as many local and international visitors are intrigued to see the windmills of the Zaanse Schans today, foreign artists also frequently found their ways here in the past. French impressionist painter Claude Monet was likely one of the most famous ones.

Monet, Die Zaan bei Zaandam, 1871

Hundreds of Windmills

The picturesque landscape of the Zaanse Schans immediately enamored Claude Monet, one of the most influential landscape painters in the history of art. Monet was so awestruck by the beauty of the place that he produced 25 paintings here, one of the original ones is on display in the Zaans Museum.

Monet wrote to his friend and painter Pissarro after arriving in Zaandam, “We have finally arrived at the end of our journey. We traversed almost the whole length of Holland, and to be sure, what I saw of it seemed far more beautiful than it is said to be. Zaandam is particularly remarkable and there is enough to paint there for a lifetime. Houses in all colors, hundreds of windmills and delightful boats. I believe we have found a good place to stay.”

The artist stayed in Zaandam for four months before visiting Amsterdam and the tulip fields. So no wonder that the paintings had typical Dutch topics like rivers with windmills and small boats, cityscapes of Amsterdam and of course tulips.

Claude_Monet, Windmills Near Zaandam Walters,1871

The Zaandam paintings comprise the first large group of works from a single location and a continuous period. Back in France, Monet adopted this approach on several other occasions. His famous series such as the haystacks, the poplars on the River Epte, the Cathedral of Rouen and the water lilies in Giverny were all created in this way.

The paintings Monet made in Zaandam are also special because of their colors. This might be one of the reasons Monet loved this place: there were plenty of overcast skies and grey water to experiment with.

Rembrandt’s Paint

In the old days, when artists like Rembrandt needed different pigments to make their masterpieces, they would go to a mill. And since the Zaanse Schans is a real life museum, you can still see how paint was made here.

Verfmolen De Kat

One of the mills by the water, called De Kat, is believed to be the only remaining paint producing windmill. When you go inside, you see huge grindstones crushing limestone into a fine powder and pack it with natural pigments. Paint, it turns out, can be made out of all kinds of things, varying from wood, rocks, chalk (for lines on soccer fields), cochineal lice that live on a cactus (beautiful red color used in lipstick and food), indigo (for jeans) and even old rooftiles (terracotta colors). When talking about paint, people often think of tubes with sticky paste coming out, but that is not what De Kat sells. In the windmill, miller Piet Kempenaar has a small room lined with shelves filled with small paper bags of powder. “Here, you buy a teint and we give you a recipe on how to use it to make paint,” Kempenaar told hiEurope.

The Miller sells his pigments to restauration workshops, musical instrument makers, the textile industry and weavers, and to artists who wanted to paint with the same materials as the old masters of the Golden Age. It turns out there is much interest in these paint techniques, and Kempenaar has demonstrated them at the Rembrandt House, where a reproduction of the artist’s workshop can be visited. De Kat also produces a Rembrandt Box, which contains all the pigments the master used.

Looking at the grinding stones of the mill or the paintings of olden days makes the Zaanse Schans the perfect place for an historical sensation. Sitting by the Zaan River and gazing at the windmills, you all of a sudden realize that the past really existed.


Share This Article

Zaanse Schans for Art Lovers

现代社会的游客就像过去的画家一样,他们来到荷兰都想一睹闻名于世的风景:无边无际的低地、典型荷兰风格的辽阔天空、点缀其间的朵朵白云、木制小屋,当然,还有还有赞斯安斯(Zaanse Schans)的风车。

对荷兰人而言, 风车是一项惊天地泣鬼神的发明,它为这个国家带来了繁荣和兴旺。直到16世纪,这里的生活条件依然十分艰难。湿地和沼泽经常遭遇洪涝,人们生活在狭小的农房里。洪水往往会摧毁掉所有在冬天修建的房屋。风车不仅能用来排水,还是荷兰最早的工厂。风车巨大的轮子能够加工各种各样的原材料:从切断木头到碾磨谷物。

因此,当大海被征服后,风车的生产使荷兰人变得富起来。于是就带来了荷兰的黄金年代,直到今天,这段时期仍被认为是人类历史上最为重要的艺术运动时期。富商巨贾花钱找人给自己画肖像画,或将荷兰风景图挂到宅邸里。人们估计,17世纪中叶前后,大概有700名活跃在荷兰的画家。

伦勃朗·范·莱因,《磨坊》,1645-8年

尽管荷兰黄金时代的画家描绘着各种各样的主题,但风车始终是这场艺术运动的焦点。该时期许多最重要的画作都描绘了这样一座建筑。但最重要的风车画也许是伦勃朗(Rembrandt)于1648年完成的《磨坊》(The Mill)吧。

尽管绘画风格会随着时间的流逝而推陈出新,新的艺术运动也在更迭交替,风车却始终如一不变。与那灰蒙蒙的天空以及低地令人惶恐不安的海洋一道,风车也是每一个著名画家描绘的对象——从凡高(Van Gogh)到蒙德里安(Mondrian)。正如今天许多本地和国际游客渴望窥见赞斯安斯的风车一样,在过去,外国艺术家也常常在这里找到他们自己的风格和灵感。法国印象派画家克劳德•莫奈(Claude Monet)就是这群著名画家中的一员。

克劳德·莫奈,《赞丹的赞河》,约1871年

成百上千座风车

克劳德•莫奈这位艺术史上最具影响力之一的风景画画家,立刻就爱上了赞斯安斯的优美风光。莫奈对风车村的爱乃至敬畏,促使他在这里创作了25幅作品,其中一幅原画便在赞斯博物馆(Zaans Museum)中展出。

当莫奈抵达赞丹(Zaandam)后,他给同是画家的好友毕沙罗(Pissarro)的信中写道:“我们几乎横穿了整个荷兰,终于到达旅途的终点。可以肯定的是,我所看到的似乎远比我听到的更为美丽迷人。赞丹更是美不可言,它有足以让人们花上一生的时间来画的风景。五彩斑斓的房子、上百座风车和载着愉快游人的小船。我想我们找到了一个完美的落脚点。”

莫奈在赞丹停留了4个月才前往阿姆斯特丹和郁金香园。所以他的画中到处是典型的荷兰主题——风车和河、小船、阿姆斯特丹的城市景观,当然还有郁金香——也就不足为奇。

这些赞丹的画构成了莫奈第一个在同一时期、同一处地点的大型绘画合集。回到法国后,他在其他场景中也采用了相同手法。像《干草堆》、《埃普特河畔上的白杨树》、《鲁昂大教堂》以及《吉维尼花园中的睡莲》等著名系列作品都是以这种方式创作的。

莫奈在赞丹创作的画作还因为色彩而与众不同。也许这就是莫奈热爱这个地方的原因之一:这里有太多灰蒙蒙的天空和灰色的水来试验他喜欢的色调。

伦勃朗的画

在过去的日子,当像伦勃朗这样的画家为创作他们的大作而需要颜料时,便会到风车里来。赞斯安斯是一座由真正的村子变成的博物馆,你能够看到在这里颜料是怎么制作出来的。

风车内部

水边有一座叫做De Kat的风车便被认为是唯一一座至今仍在生产颜料的风车。走进风车里面,你就可以看到巨大的磨石将石灰石碾成细粉,然后再用颜料上色。颜料被证明可以用各种各样的东西制成,木头、石头、粉笔(用来在足球场上画线)、生活在仙人掌里的胭脂红虱(常在口红和食物中使用的一种漂亮红色)、靛青(用于牛仔布料),甚至还有旧屋瓦(陶俑的颜色)。当谈到颜料,人们总是联想到从细管里挤出的黏糊糊的颜料,但这并不是De Kat风车卖的东西。磨坊主Piet Kempenaar在风车中有一个房间,里面的架子上摆满了装着粉末的小纸袋。“你可以在这里买包染料,然后我们教你怎么用它们来做颜料的方法,”Kempenaar告诉《hi欧洲》。

磨坊主把他的颜料卖给装修工、音乐剧道具师、纺织工业人士和编织工人,还有那些想和黄金时代的画家们用同样的颜料创作的艺术家。这种在磨坊里制成的传统颜料还颇受欢迎,Kempenaar甚至到伦勃朗之家博物馆里进行了展示。这座博物馆里复原了艺术家的工作室,供游人参观。De Kat也推出一款伦勃朗盒,里面包含这位大师曾经使用过的所有颜料。

看着风车巨大的磨石和过去的油画,不禁让人感到赞斯安斯浓厚的历史韵味。当你在赞河旁找一处绿地坐下,欣赏着风车群的景致,你突然间感觉过去仿佛那样触手可及。


分享此文章